PMM College Part 2: Best before date VERSUS use by date

Our new product information for trainees, professionals and all interested parties. This time it's all about the meaning and the difference between the best-before date (BBD) and the use-by date.

Important: The best before date is not a throwaway date! On the contrary, it is a Quality date and has applied to foodstuffs in Germany since 1981. EU-wide, the regulation has been in place since 2011. The best-before date is clearly marked on almost all food products so that consumers can easily read it.

Exceptions apply, for example, to vinegar, table salt, high-proof alcohol (more than 10 percent by volume), but also to wine, sugar in solid form and chewing gum, as well as fresh fruit, vegetables and certain baked goods.

Manufacturers use the best-before date to indicate until which date - i.e. how long - the respective foodstuff retains its product-specific properties. This concerns the appearance, smell, taste and consistency. This means that the quality characteristics described above are guaranteed by the manufacturer under the specified storage conditions.

Canned goods allow a special advantage due to their long MHD, usually for years. For example, canned goods from Paul M. Müller such as ADRIA pears or ADRIA tomatoes offer a minimum shelf life of up to 3 years from production.

In most cases, however, the food is still edible even after the best-before date has passed and should not be thrown away immediately. Instead of throwing away, the consumer should first smell and try, then decide.

This contrasts with the use-by date, which must be indicated on perishable foods such as ground meat, poultry meat or raw milk. ImportantSuch food with an exceeded use-by date may no longer be sold and should not be consumed under any circumstances.

Our expert

Max Mustermann

Expert for cans and pulses, VDD and VFED certificate Chair at the RWTH Aachen University of Technology
more articles from Max Mustermann

even more knowledge:

Market report by mail

We provide you with fresh industry news and informative interviews - just enter your name and e-mail address and click "Subscribe"!

Contact

In Person

you can reach us Monday - Friday from 7:30 - 17:00.

PMM College Teil 2: MHD VERSUS Verbrauchsdatum

Unsere neue Warenkunde für Azubis, Profis und alle Interessierten. Diesmal dreht sich alles um die Bedeutung und den Unterschied von Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum (MHD) und Verbrauchsdatum.

Wichtig: Das MHD ist kein Wegwerfdatum! Im Gegenteil, es ist ein Qualitätsdatum und gilt bei Lebensmitteln seit 1981 in Deutschland. EU-weit ist die Verordnung seit 2011 geregelt. Die für Verbraucher gut lesbare Kennzeichnung des MHDs erfolgt auf fast allen Lebensmitteln.

Ausnahmen gelten beispielsweise für Essig, Speisesalz, hochprozentigen Alkohol (mehr als 10 Volumenprozent), aber auch für Wein, Zucker in fester Form und Kaugummi sowie frisches Obst, Gemüse und bestimmte Backwaren.

Hersteller geben mit dem MHD an, bis zu welchem Datum – also wie lange – das jeweilige Lebensmittel seine produktspezifischen Eigenschaften beibehält. Das betrifft das Aussehen, den Geruch, den Geschmack und die Konsistenz. Das bedeutet, so lange werden die oben beschriebenen Qualitätsmerkmale unter vorgegebener Aufbewahrungsbedingung seitens des Herstellers garantiert.

Konservendosen erlauben einen besonderen Vorteil aufgrund ihres langen MHDs, meist über Jahre hinweg. So bietet Dosenware von Paul M. Müller wie etwa ADRIA-Birnen oder ADRIA-Tomaten eine Mindesthaltbarkeit von bis zu 3 Jahren ab der Produktion.

Meist sind die Lebensmittel jedoch auch nach Überschreiten des MHDs noch genießbar und sollten nicht gleich weggeschmissen werden. Statt wegwerfen gilt für den Verbraucher: Zuerst riechen und versuchen, dann entscheiden.

Demgegenüber steht das Verbrauchsdatum, welches auf leicht verderblichen Lebensmitteln wie etwa Hackfleisch, Geflügelfleisch oder Rohmilch angegeben werden muss. WichtigSolche Lebensmittel mit überschrittenem Verbrauchsdatum dürfen nicht mehr verkauft werden und sollten auch auf keinen Fall mehr verzehrt werden.

Unser Experte

Max Mustermann

Experte für Dosen und Hülsenfrüchte, VDD- und VFED-Zertifikat Lehrstuhl an der Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
weitere Artikel von Max Mustermann

noch mehr Wissen:

Marktbericht per Mail

Wir versorgen Sie mit frischen Branchen News und informative Interviews – einfach Ihren Namen und die E-mail Adresse eingeben und auf „Anmelden“ klicken!

Kontakt

Persönlich

erreichen Sie uns montags – freitags von 7:30 – 17:00 Uhr.