PMM COLLEGE - PART 1: THE COUNT

First-hand product knowledge, explained by a professional, presented in an understandable and clear way for all trainees, professionals and industry participants. What does "count" actually mean? PMM College clarifies!

The indication of a count or a caliber is not mandatory in food law, but it helps with orientation and is part of good manners from a commercial point of view in order to exclude any misunderstanding when purchasing.

So: The caliber of olives, for example, is a measure of how many whole olives come to a certain weight.

Important: The count always refers to 100 grams of raw material before processing.

This should be known, because after processing and coring, if necessary, the weight and size of the olives change.

In the trade, extrapolation is made on a kilogram basis, i.e. multiplied by a factor of 10.

In any case, the lower the count, the larger and higher quality the olives. Paul M. Müller, for example, trades in ADRIA canned goods with a count of 26/29 as a short designation. This means that there are approximately 260 to 290 olives per kilogram of raw material. In the ADRIA jar, for example, we offer a count of 28/32, which means that there are approximately 280 to 320 olives per kilogram of raw material. Our popular top product ADRIA-Queens comes to a count of about 100 to 110 large, flavorful olives.

For whole artichoke hearts, the number of pieces is given in counts. However, the count is counted differently for artichokes. Important: The larger the count, the smaller the artichoke hearts. That is, a count of 30/40 indicates a number of pieces of about 30 to 40 hearts in the can. ADRIA canned artichoke hearts are available in small cans (425 ml) with counts of 5/7 or 8/12 up to a high count of 25/30, 30/40 to 50/60 for large cans (2650 ml). Small hearts are correspondingly more expensive.

Once again, the count is counted differently for our agate snails. Here the count is declared in dozens. That means: In the 850 ml ADRIA can (30 oz) we have about 12 dozen, so about 144 snails.

Our expert

Max Mustermann

Expert for cans and pulses, VDD and VFED certificate Chair at the RWTH Aachen University of Technology
more articles from Max Mustermann

even more knowledge:

Market report by mail

We provide you with fresh industry news and informative interviews - just enter your name and e-mail address and click "Subscribe"!

Contact

In Person

you can reach us Monday - Friday from 7:30 - 17:00.

PMM COLLEGE – TEIL 1: DER Count

Warenkunde aus erster Hand, vom Profi erklärt, für alle Azubis, Profis und Branchenteilnehmer verständlich und anschaulich aufbereitet. Was bedeutet eigentlich »Count«? PMM College klärt auf!

Die Angaben eines Counts oder eines Kalibers sind im Lebensmittelrecht nicht zwingend vorgeschrieben, helfen jedoch bei der Orientierung und gehören unter kaufmännischen Aspekten zum guten Ton, um jegliches Missverständnis beim Einkauf auszuschließen.

Also: Das Kaliber bei Oliven beispielsweise ist ein Maß dafür, wie viele ganze Oliven auf ein bestimmtes Gewicht kommen.

Wichtig: Der Count bezieht sich immer auf 100 Gramm Rohware vor der Verarbeitung.

Das sollte man wissen, denn nach der Verarbeitung und gegebenenfalls Entkernung verändern sich Gewicht und Größe der Oliven.

Im Handel wird auf Kilogramm-Basis hochgerechnet, also mit dem Faktor 10 multipliziert.

Es gilt auf jeden Fall: Je niedriger der Count, desto größer und hochwertiger sind die Oliven. Paul M. Müller handelt z.B. bei der ADRIA-Dosenware mit einem Count von 26/29 als Kurzbezeichnung. Das bedeutet, dass auf ein Kilogramm Rohware zirka 260 bis 290 Oliven kommen. Im ADRIA-Glas bieten wir zum Beispiel einen Count von 28/32, also kommen auf ein Kilogramm Rohware zirka 280 bis 320 Oliven. Unsere beliebte Topware ADRIA-Queens kommt auf einen Count von zirka 100 bis 110 großen geschmacksintensiven Oliven.

Bei ganzen Artischockenherzen wird die Stückzahl in Count angegeben. Allerdings wird der Count bei Artischocken anders gezählt. Wichtig: Je größer der Count, um so kleiner sind die Artischockenherzen. Das heißt, mit einem Count von 30/40 wird eine Stückzahl von zirka 30 bis 40 Herzen in der Konserve angegeben. ADRIA-Artischockenherzen als Dosenware gibt es bei kleinen Dosen (425 ml) mit den Counts 5/7 oder 8/12 bis hin zu einem hohen Count von 25/30, 30/40 bis 50/60 bei Großdosen (2650 ml). Kleine Herzen sind entsprechend teurer.

Noch einmal anders wird der Count bei unseren Achat-Schnecken gezählt. Hier wird der Count in Dutzend deklariert. Das heißt: In der 850-ml-ADRIA-Dose (30 oz) haben wir rund 12 Dutzend, also zirka 144 Schnecken.

Unser Experte

Max Mustermann

Experte für Dosen und Hülsenfrüchte, VDD- und VFED-Zertifikat Lehrstuhl an der Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
weitere Artikel von Max Mustermann

noch mehr Wissen:

Marktbericht per Mail

Wir versorgen Sie mit frischen Branchen News und informative Interviews – einfach Ihren Namen und die E-mail Adresse eingeben und auf „Anmelden“ klicken!

Kontakt

Persönlich

erreichen Sie uns montags – freitags von 7:30 – 17:00 Uhr.